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AUTOMA

ARTIFICIAL OPPONENTS FOR 1-2 PLAYERS
Designed by Morten Monrad Pedersen & David |. Studley with Nick Shaw

5 H
[ INTRODUCTION ]

This rulebook introduces a system for adding 2 artificial opponents, called Automas, to
Euphoria that take the place of human players.

You can use them either to play solo or to allow 2 humans to

increase the player count to 4. DesiGNEr’s NoTe: Our

artificial opponents got their
The Automas play by different rules so that they are quick names from the ltalian word
to manage. Their rules are described in this rulebook. Regular for “automaton,” chosen

because the first one we
made was for the game
Viticulture, which is set in Italy.

game rules, not explicitly overridden here, are still in effect (e.g,
Automas place authority tokens when placing workers on the
spaces that allow this). Human players follow the same rules as
normal.
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5 .
[ SETwP ]

If you use the expansion markets and recruits, remove
the recruits and markets listed below from the game:

* Dilemma’s Prison (market)
* Khaleef the Bruiser (Subterran recruit)

If you use the base game markets and recruits,
instead remove:

* Fountain of Youthful Thinking (market)
* Amanda the Broker (Icarite recruit)
* Ben the Ludologist (Euphorian recruit)

GIVE THE AUTOMAS THEIR COMPONENTS

One Automa is called the Black Automa; the other
is called the White Automa. Set aside space on the
table for each Automa and give them 4 workers (roll
them) and |0 Authority tokens corresponding to
their color.

* Josiah the Hacker (Subterran recruit)

* Lee the Gossip (Icarite recruit)

* Maxime the Ambassador (Icarite recruit)
* Phil the Spy (Subterran recruit)

* Rebecca the Peddler (Icarite recruit)

Set up the game as normal, except for the Automas
that are handled differently as described in the
following 3 sections.

The Automas take the place of human players and
contribute to the player count. Therefore, you must
do the setup as a 3- or 4-player game.

The Automas always take their place in the turn

order after the human player(s), black first, then white.

It's a good idea to choose a spot for the Automa
components that will help you remember this.
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SET UP THE DECKS

|. Separate the Automa cards into 4 piles based
on the color of the box in the upper left
corner: green (has the letter “S" in them), black
("B"), white (W), and light purple ("D").

2. Shuffle each of the 4 piles individually and place
them face-down.

3.Using these 4 piles, construct 3 face-down decks
with the number of cards from each pile given
below. This mix of cards represents intermediate
difficulty and can be adjusted (see “Difficulty Levels™).

|| AUTOMADECK | ADD-IN DECK 1 | ADD-IN DECK 2
2 2

6

PURPLE 0 I |

The Automa deck is used to control both Automas. The
add-in decks will be added into the Automa deck later.

4. Return the remaining Automa cards to the box.

5. Shuffle the 3 decks and set the two Add-in
decks aside for now.

6.Take the top card of the Automa deck and place
it face up to the right of the deck leaving room for
| card in between. This first card will be used as
the support card for the first turn. (Support cards
are explained in the "Automa Cards" section.)

[~

@

K3

in

-]
A
&% [
4

™ & |
- 1 - |
=

-

il £

SHUFFLE
AUTOMA ADDAN | ADDIN 2
600 211 211

£

AUTOMA ADD-IN

ACTION CARD ~ SUPPORT CARD

B>
_— E

&
B

4

£

ADD-IN 2

=

B

‘ ‘ EuphExp_AutoRulebook_r3.indd 3

10/22/18 12:42AM‘ ‘



AUTOMA FACTION SELECTION

After you've chosen your own recruits:
| Shuffle the faction/penalty cards.

2.In a game with | human player:

a. Draw faction/penalty cards one at a time for
the black Automa until it has a card with a
faction that is different than either of your
two recruits.

b. Draw cards in the same way for the white
Automa with the additional constraint that
the faction must also be different than that
drawn by the black Automa.

3.In a game with 2 human players: Draw a faction/
penalty card for each Automa. Unlike a game
with | human player, the factions don't need to
be different from those of other players.

4. Place the drawn faction/penalty cards next to
each Automa’s other components with the
non-penalty side up.
a.The side with the [l is called the penalty
side.

5. Return unused faction/penalty cards to the box.

6. The Automas’ factions count towards
determining which factions have the most active
recruits.

—{ WHAT AUTOMAS DON'T DO OR RAVE —

* Automas have no morale, knowledge, or ethical
dilemmas, which makes sense as they're just
stacks of cardboard.

* They also have no recruits.

* They never pay the costs of using action spaces and
the only benefits they gain from such spaces are:

» Placing authority tokens.
» Advancing miners.
» Advancing allegiance tracks.
* They never perform knowledge checks.

* They never place more than | worker per turn.

———{_ AUTOMA ALLEGIANCE }———

The faction icon on an Automa’s faction/penalty card
shows that Automa’s Faction. The Automas will get
to place up to 2 authority tokens for that faction.

* The first time that recruits of an Automa faction
would be activated, either through the allegiance
track or via a tunnel, place | of that Automa’s
authority tokens next to the allegiance track.

* When an Automa’s faction reaches the last tier of
the allegiance track, place | more of that Automa’s
authority tokens next to the allegiance track.

-
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5 .
[ AUTOMACARDS ]

Automa cards are used to decide what the Automas do on their turn.

ACTION  SUPPORT
ikl COLUMN  COLUMN
CAMPING [ ~ BAZAR ' I, |
INDICATOR |~ A\ B | INDIcATOR -

(IF ANY) | _ | (IF ANY)

FAGTION ACTION

SELECTION SELECTION

_ @_

An Automa card with its various sections highlighted.

The card ID has no gameplay effect.
Two Automa cards next to each other. The left card

Automa cards are always used in pairs. These are acts as the action card and the right card acts as the
placed horizontally next to each other and only the support card.
center area formed by the two combined cards is

used in the current turn. The blue box (bottom middle) is called the worker

placement box and the icons in there are used for
The left card is called the Action card and only its the two Automas’ worker placements: black area for
right half is used. The right card is the Support card the black Automa, white area for the white Automa.

and only its left half is used. . . . .
The icon in the purple box is used to determine the

For placing workers, the black Automa uses the artifact card to be removed from the New Antiques
black section at the middle of the card and the white Bazaar (if any) and the icon in the green box (if any)
Automa uses the white section just below it. is used to determine whether an Automa will leave a

worker on the board if retrieving workers.

B
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[ PENALIZING MARKET ]

On an Automa’s turn, any constructed market that
doesn't have that Automa'’s authority token onitis a
Penalizing market (i.e., the Automa is affected by a
penalty because of that market).

Any time the Automa has any penalizing markets, the
penalty side of its faction/penalty card must be face
up (the side with the [Bi)). Otherwise, the non-penalty
side must be face up.

MARKET PENALTIES

When the penalty side (with a flf) of the Automa’s
factions/penalty card is face up:

* Every time the Automa rolls a BE that worker is
immediately placed on the faction/penalty card.
Workers on the card are unavailable to place. It's
possible for ALL the Automa'’s workers to be on
the card.

» Workers that already have knowledge 6 when
the card is turned to the penalty side (with a i)
are not moved to the card.

When the Automa retrieves workers, these
unavailable workers are retrieved and rolled along
with its other retrieved workers. This means that it is
possible for the Automa to need to retrieve workers
for two (or more) consecutive turns (if it rolls all 6s
and the workers all become unavailable immediately).

e |f the card is returned to the non-penalty side,
any workers on it remain there until the Automa
retrieves its workers.

’ N
[ AUTOMATURNS ]

Both Automas’ turns are handled by the same Automa card pair.

When Automas take their turn (remember that they do so after all humans) go through the following steps:

|. Draw an Automa card.

2.The New Antiques Bazaar (if applicable): Discard
I artifact (and refill the Bazaar as usual).

.

3. Black Automa’s turn: Retrieve workers or place a
single worker.

4.White Automa’s turn: Retrieve workers or place a
single worker.
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ORAW AN AUTOMA CARD

At the beginning of an Automa’s turn:

[ If there’s an action card from the previous turn,
discard the support card and slide the action
card to the right so that it becomes the support
card for this turn.

2. If there are no cards left in the Automa deck,
rebuild the deck:

a. Gather all the Automa cards that were in the
deck during this pass-through (discards, action,
and support) as well as all the cards from | of
the add-in decks you created during setup if
one remains.

b. Shuffle those cards to form a new Automa deck.

c. Draw the top card from the Automa deck
and place it as the support card for this turn.

Draw a card from the Automa deck and place it to
the left of the support card. This is the action card for
the two Automas during their turn.

THE NEW ANTIQUES BAZAAR

Ignore this section if you're
playing without the New Antiques

9 Bazaar.

If an icon like the one above is present, discard the
highlighted artifact from the bazaar. Only one artifact
is removed, not one per Automa.

RETRIEVE AUTOMA WORKERS

When an Automa has no workers to place, it will
retrieve its workers.

An Automa will also retrieve workers when it has
exactly | available worker and its action for the turn is
, P or“.

Whenever an Automa retrieves workers:

¢ It will leave behind workers on construction
sites.

« Ifthere’sa A\ icon on the support card, it will also
leave | worker behind on a commodity area not
belonging to its faction (if there is one). t will only do
this, however, if it will still retrieve at least | worker:

* If there are multiple such workers, it will
leave behind | worker with the highest
knowledge. Use the Faction area tiebreaker (see
“Tiebreakers'" section) if there are more than
one of those workers.

Remember, Automas never do knowledge checks.
Other than that, they bump and retrieve workers as
normal, including rolling retrieved workers.

Remember to check whether retrieved workers with
knowledge 6 should be placed on the faction/penalty
card. (See the “Market Penalties” section.)

B
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PLACE A WORKER

If an Automa has at least | available worker and
doesn't retrieve, it places a worker. Look at its row in
the worker placement box of the current card pair.

Placement is based both on the action icon (on the
current action card) and the faction icon (on the
support card). The latter can either be the icon of one
of the four factions or it can be which indicates
the Automa’s faction.

The action icon will show what kind of action space
the Automa will place its worker on. Refer to the
corresponding action section below (see “Actions”
section) and carry out the instructions there.

The Automa always places its available worker with
the highest knowledge, except when it's placing in its
own commodity area (). In this case, it selects its
available worker with the lowest knowledge.

It does this whether the #88 icon is shown or if it is
the specific icon of its faction.

e

Example: The black Automa's faction is Icarus and it has
workers with knowledge 2 and 6 available. The worker
placement box for the current card pair looks like the
illustration above.

You start by looking up the icon || in the appropriate
subsection and find that this symbol means the Automa
will place a worker on a commodity area. Since the
faction icon next to the |@ icon is 48} the Automa will
place its knowledge 2 worker on the Icarus commodity
area.

Had the faction icon been @ the Automa would have
placed its knowledge 6 worker on the commodity area in
the Wastelands.
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TIEBREAKERS

When placing a worker on either artifact markets or
constructed markets/construction sites, the Automa
will often have multiple spaces—possibly in multiple
faction areas—that it considers for placement. These
are called valid spaces.

THE FACTION AREA TIEBREAKER
In such situations, the Automa .-_
will first select the faction area &C.
to consider A faction area is all  J@!

the action spaces belonging to a . :

specific faction. g@% d
Starting in the faction area corresponding to the icon
shown on the current support card, it assesses the
factions in the order shown below, until it finds one
with a valid space:

THE CoNsTRUCT(ED) MARKET TIEBREAKER

When choosing a construction site or constructed
market, and having applied the appropriate faction
area tiebreaker; there'll often still be multiple valid
spaces left.

In such situations, the Automa will select the space
on the bottommost location of the board.

Examples of using these tiebreakers are included
in the descriptions of the actions where these are
relevant.

e Y 1 —
DesiGNER’s NoTE: There can be a bit of a learning
curve associated with a couple of the Automa actions,
but these will soon click and play will become as
smooth as butter.

COMMODITY AREA ACTION

For this action, the Automa places a worker
® on the commodity area of the faction
indicated on the current Automa card.

Remember: If the Automa must place a worker
on the commodity area of its own faction, it will
(contrary to all other situations) place the worker
with the lowest knowledge.

TUNNEL + BREEZE BAR ACTION
& TUNNEL + SKY LOUNGE ACTION

The two icons shown here correspond to two
distinct, but very similar, actions.

For both actions, all tunnel action spaces are valid.

In addition, one space in Icarus is valid according to
which of the two icons are shown:

% Breeze Bar (market that gives artifacts) is

valid.

N Sky Lounge (market that gives resources)
is valid.
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5 .
L ACTIONS ]

ARTIFACT MARKET ACTION

Go through the rows of the table
@ below, from top to bottom, until you
find a row that gives the Automa at
least | valid space in any faction area.
If multiple faction areas have valid spaces use the

tiebreakers. The Automa places a worker and possibly
an authority token, as specified.

DesIGNER’s NOTE: As seen in the table, the Automa
starts by seeking a construction that's already taking
place, which might sound counterintuitive for an action
called “artifact market action,” but this simulates how
human players often do everything they can to join a
market that's being constructed.

VALID SPACES | WHAT TOPLACE | WHERE TO PLACE
Spaces on @

Available construction

construction )
. * site space
sites where —_ *
there’s already a (Caifes
completes the Constructed market
worker :
construction)
Artifact markets

in faction areas @

Artifact market

*

with a penalizing *

market Penalizing market

All artifact @ Artifact market

markets * *
?l 10 Territory

Automas can place authority tokens on territories that
are already full. In such a situation, an Automa places
the authority token next to the territory.

Example: The white Automa has drawn an artifact
market action and the faction icon is Icarus.

No construction is in progress in any faction area so the
Automa skips the first row of the table.

Next, it checks whether there are any penalizing
markets (markets where that Automa doesn't already
have an . Lo and behold, there are 3 such markets: 2
in Subterra and | in Euphoria.

So, the Automa uses the faction area tiebreaker—
starting in lcarus and following the faction circle until

it meets the first faction area containing a penalizing
market. That faction area is Subterra. (It skips Icarus and
Wastelands because neither have a penalizing market.)

Therefore, the Automa must place a worker on the
Subterran artifact market.

Since there are 2 penalizing markets in Subterra, the
construct(ed) market tiebreaker tells you to place the
Automa’s authority token on the bottommost of the 2
Subterran constructed markets.
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CONSTRUCT(ED) MARKET ACTION

Go through the rows of the table
below, from top to bottom, until you
Il find a row that gives the Automa at
least | valid space, using the tiebreakers as needed.
The Automa places a worker and possibly an
authority token, as specified.

VALID SPACES | WHAT TOPLACE | WHERE TO PLACE
Spaces on @

construction * Available construction
sites where = site space
, only if this
there's already co(mp}l/et];s the *
a worker construction) Constructed market
Spaces on
construction sites @
where there are Bottommost space

no workers

Penalizing @
markets * *

Penalizing market

Penalizing market

Constructed market
All constructed @ space
markets * *
Territory

DesicNER’s NoTE: In this action the Automa wants

to construct markets, if possible. The next priority is
eliminating market penalties. If those strategies fail, it'l
use a constructed market to place W ona territory.

Automas can place authority tokens on territories that
are already full. In such a situation, an Automa places
the authority token next to the territory.

Example: The black Automa has drawn a construct(ed)
market action and the faction icon is Subterra.

No construction is in progress in any faction areg, so the
Automa skips the first row of the table.

Next, it checks whether there are any construction sites
without any workers and find that only the 2 markets
in Euphoria are unconstructed and have no workers on
their construction sites.

Therefore, row 2 of the action table applies. The 4
spaces on the construction sites for each of those
2 markets in Euphoria are valid spaces for worker
placement.

Since only Euphoria has valid spaces, the faction area
tiebreaker isn't needed. The construct(ed) market
tiebreaker means that the Automa places its worker on
the bottommost Euphorian construction space on the
board.

E
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[ DIFFIGULTY LEVELS ]

If you want to change the difficulty level, make the following adjustments when setting up the Automa decks:

BEGINNER: VETERAN:
Initial Automa deck: 8 green card(s). Initial Automa deck: 4 green card(s).
Add-in decks: 2 green, | black, | white, and Add-in decks: | green, | black, | white, and
| purple card(s) in each. | purple card in each.
INTERMEDIATE (AS DESCRIBED IN “SETUP”): ExPerT:
Initial Automa deck: 6 green card(s). Initial Automa deck: 4 green, | black and | white
Add-in decks: 2 green, | black, | white, and card(s).
| purple card(s) in each. Add-in decks: | green, | black, | white, and |

purple card in each.
EXPERIENCED:

Initial Automa deck: 5 green card(s). IWANT To crr: .
Add-in decks: 2 green, | black, | white, and | Initial Automa deck: 4 green, | black and | white
purple card(s) in each. card(s).
Add-in decks: | black, | white,and | purple card
in each.

[ OPTIONAL SOLO VARIANT ]

When setting up the game to play solo, you can draw
faction/penalty cards for the Automas without regard
for the factions of your recruits and the faction of the
other Automa.

DesiGNER’s Nore: This variant can lead to interesting
match-ups against the Automa, but makes the game
swingier.

Automa
Factory

STONEMAIER © 2019 Stonemaier LLC. Euphoria is a trademark of Stonemaier LLC. All Rights Reserved.
GAMES

E.IIZ

b

10/22/18 12:42AM‘ ‘



